As some of you may have noticed, someone with screen name “chris123” has made a lot of posts to the forums today. At first, I thought it was an alumni who had just found the site and was trying to catch up on the topics in the forums, but then I noticed several distinct patterns that made me suspicious.
1) Overall grammar and sentence structure seemed like someone for whom English is a second language...not suspicious in and of itself....but....
2) Seemingly random posts to old topics
3) Replies to topics where an alumni says “Hi” to everyone and mentions where he or she now lives. In the replies “chris123” says he/she lives “near” the person and would like to “meet you”. This same pattern is repeated in replies to alumni from different parts of the U.S.
4) Replies to other posts pick up on topics mentioned in the original post and then ask rather uninformed questions about the topic.
5) “chris123” signature line has a link to a website at http://www.themodernman.com, which I found is a web site registered to “Easy Game Enterprises Pty Ltd” in Melbourne, Australia
6) The “chris123” profile was just created today, the same day all the posts were made.
I will e-mail Lisa to get this userid removed or blocked. In the meantime, be careful what you post. This “person” may be trying to collect your personal information for spamming or scam purposes.
